Ahh the joys of living alone…


When my wife passed away, I was devastated. I knew it was coming, of course, and had known for years that the outcome was inevitable. I had even considered what it would be like to live alone, after living as a twosome or more for fifty years. I miss her tremendously, but over the ensuing months, my cat and I are getting more and more adapted to living the bachelor life. I’ve even tried a couple of “Let’s meet over burgers and get to know each other.” with single people of the female persuasion. In my age bracket, it seems that anyone I didn’t know in my younger days is really old. I am not old. I am seasoned, and I’m not gonna waste any more time, gasoline or money on these “dates”.

Living alone has it’s advantages. Cat and I have little victories here and there. We invent ways to do things more efficiently. Take coffee for example. I am too darn lazy to get up and create a pot of coffee every day. Fortunately, I like refrigerated coffee as well as hot coffee. I don’t like to drink an entire pot every day. My nerves are jangled enough. I like hazelnut creamer, and enough creamer to properly flavor an entire pot can get into some heavy calories. And unlike Cat, (See previous blog)  I do not wish to conserve calories.  I want to get rid of them.  OrI have to burn them off, and that takes the “E” word.  Something I like to avoid.

ImageHere’s what I do: When it’s time, I make a full pot of coffee, some 64 ounces. Then I pour it into a cup that I have already added 5.5 ounces of coffee creamer. I put the whole pot in the cup. Now you’re probably saying something like “BS. How can you put so much fluid into one cup?

Easy. Have you been inside a gas station store? Of course you have. Ever notice the non-disposable hot and cold cups that are stacked by the soda and coffee area? The station I go to has containers up to 64 ounces for sale.

So if you make a full pot of coffee, and you use the drip method like I do, the coffee grounds themselves soak up enough water to allow the coffee and creamer to fit. On day one I have a steaming gigantic mug of coffee. I know from previous weigh-in that this thing weighs about 2150 grams, filled and capped. I drink out of it like anyone would. Sipping, enjoying, while creating these little essays. Around eleven o’clock, I’ve had enough coffee and move on to something else. I’m “coffeed out” for the day. I weigh the mug on a digital scale I have next to the fridge, then put the mug into the fridge. Why do I weigh the coffee? Because I’m counting calories.

ImageThe next day, I’ll go to the fridge and get the mug of now refer-cold coffee. I can sip and enjoy that until I’ve had my fill. Weigh the mug again, and put it into the refer. Repeat daily until empty. In the vertical pic above, did you notice the dry-erase board? In the upper left corner, one can see where I save my various weights.

An aside… As many of you know, I have dry macular degeneration, pretty heavy in one eye (my right) and light to moderate in the other. Four days after a laser eye surgery bout on both eyes to correct fogging capsules, (the part of eye anatomy that holds the cataract-replacement lens) in my good eye, a tiny blind spot appeared in the dead-center of my left eye. To me it appears to be just about the size of a letter in a word. So to read I have to flick my eyes just slightly from side to side to see the word. My other alternative is to zoom my screen image in so I can see bigger print.

Zoomed inBecause my vision no longer allows me to enjoy my TV from across the room, I sometimes go into my palatial bedroom to watch the evening and prime-time programs. My set-up is a simple slave operation, where the TV only shows what the main living room is showing. So I have the entire night pre-rogrammed. My bedroom TV situation some would call a bit strange. Quite possibly, lazy. I call it having the ultimate comfort while enjoying TV. The necessary parts to this scenario are a “hospital table”, a 24 inch flat-screen TV, a pair of vice grips, Something like a four inch segment of a two by four and counter-weighting material. I have a nice 20 lb sandbag on order.

20140510_095229I hate watching TV between my feet. Because of a slight permanent physical problem, sitting up in bed is uncomfortable. Ergo, I have my set on the side of my bed. To watch, I place the TV over the edge of the portable table, resting on one side on the mattress. The vice grips serve as kind of a fulcrum, or maybe an axle. The sand bag weighing down on the vice grips is a safety measure to keep it from flopping over on me or Cat. So when I get into bed, I can prop myself very comfortably on my side, and the TV is oriented to the plane of my vision. But not exactly, My head actually reposes at an angle, around fifteen degrees from horizontal. So I use the two by four block to prop the set on one corner. Tilted TVThe table and sandbag hold it safely in place. I used semi strong reading glasses to get the image crisp, I can plug in a set of over- the-ear phones for great sound, and I’m a happy camper. Living alone, I can even leave the set-up in place, if I want.

Onto another item:  If you enjoy reading this rather eclectic blog,  I need you to follow it, or at least sign up for emails.  Right now, I have to put filthy lucre into “boosting” it on Facebook.  And if you appreciate my style of writing, please visit http://www.amansart.com/TCPI/TCPI-index.html .  You might even consider purchasing one of my fiction novels, available in e-book form or paperback.

